Emirates Cricket Board announces team to represent UAE at ICC U19 Cricket World Cup division 2 qualifier

- UAE has been drawn into Group B and will play Kuwait, Hong Kong, Thailand and Oman – - 50-over format qualifier to be played in Malaysia September 26th to October 6th in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia -

Abu Dhabi: Emirates Cricket Board has announced the U19 team that will represent the UAE at the upcoming International Cricket Council’s (ICC) U19 Cricket World Cup (CWC) division 2 qualifier.

The 50-over tournament will be hosted at the Kinrara Academy Oval, Kelab Aman, Bayomas, and Royal Selangor Club (RSC) Oval, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, from September 26th through to October 6th. UAE has been drawn into Group B and will play Kuwait, Hong Kong, Thailand and Oman. The top two teams from each group will qualify for the Semi Finals, which will be played October 5th with the finals played on October 6th.

Waleed Bukhatir, Emirates Cricket Board Member and Chief Selector said; “Preparations for the upcoming U19 tour have been underway since the beginning of June under the expert guidance of Dom Tello, Shah Hussain and Khurram Khan. We are encouraged with the progress of the players to date and we look forward to seeing their skills and team cohesiveness continue to strengthen over the next two-months leading into their departure.”

“In naming this team we are very happy to provide some very exciting talent with the opportunity to show us their skills under pressure. This will be a very challenging series of games, with all teams in our group evenly matched, (and) it is a very exciting time for these players to represent the UAE on the international stage at an integral qualifier on the calendar. We wish them success with their continued preparations and to an enjoyable, rewarding tournament.” added Bukhatir.

The team that will represent the UAE at the ICC U19 CWC division 2 qualifier is;

Yodhin Punja (C) —– Fast Bowler

Fahad Nawaz (VC)  —– Batsman/Right-arm offbreak

Sachin Jha (WK)  —– Batsman/Keeper

Salah Shakeel —– Right-arm offbreak/Batsman

Sushain Thapar  —– Batsman/Slow left-arm orthodox

Aryan Lakra —–  Batsman/ Slow left-arm orthodox

Mohd Ali Mirza  —–  Batsman

Jonathan Figy  —–  Batsman

Justin D’ Souza  —–  Batsman

Ansh Tandon  —–  Batsman

Karthik Meiyappan   —–  Leg spinner

Krishna Lakhani  —–  Fast Bowler/All Rounder

Shah Faisal   —–  Fast Bowler

Ehtesham Siddique   —– Fast Bowler

Marlon Malcom  —–   Fast Bowler

Rahul Bhatia  —–   Left Arm Spinner

Comments are closed.